…way back when…

     Today’s topic is ‘tattoos and piercings’.  Not even halfway through the 30 day challenge, and I’m looking forward to the time when I have a choice of my topic and subject.  Since these are assigned and I have committed to this, I’m not stopping, nor changing the lesson plan.  I wont quit.    

…my first tattoo…

      I’m not sure the year but I remember the day, I had decided to get my first tattoo, and I knew that I wanted a South Carolina blue crab.  I’m a July baby from SC, and my zodiac sign is cancer, so everything fit.  If you are crabbing in the SC lowcountry, legal size to keep a crab is at least 5 inches from point to point.  So I wanted my crab tattoo to be 5 and one half inches across and I wanted it on back on my left shoulder.  I had shopped around by visiting several shops in North Carolina, and that’s when and where I met Jason Moore.  I knew without a doubt that he was an awesome tattoo artist just from meeting him and talking.  Jason drew up a sketch, perfect, we agreed on a price and an appointment was made.  I remember that it was on a Saturday, downtown Wilmington, NC.  Anyway, I had the feeling that I was going to have to have some alcohol in me in order to deal with the pain that might or might not happen.  I have now been sober for almost 5 years, but at that time I was a straight whiskey shooter.  If you have been keeping up with my blog and Instagram you already know I’m an early bird, an early riser.  I arrived downtown, on the Saturday, and took my first shot to calm my nerves, I’m not sure what time it was, but it was early.  I walked around the block, getting my head together and calming my southern Baptist self down.  When I got around to the shop, it was still closed, so ok, I did another shot, and headed down the street to a coffee shop for an espresso.  I really enjoy coffee and love espresso, strolled around the block once more, and guess what?  Closed, I decided to do another shot and sit and wait.  It wasn’t much longer, the shop opened, Jason got everything prepped, he did an awesome job and love it still today.  If he was anywhere near Nashville, I have no doubt I’d get another from him.  If you want an awesome tattoo and are anywhere near Carolina Beach, NC., look him up.  You won’t be disappointed. 

     I now have 5 tattoos total, all with a nautical theme, except one.  And I’m probably finished.  But none do I regret.  Piercings, I’ve had 3.  None that I wear now, but again none that I regret.  It was a phase I suppose.

     Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.    Proverbs 3:5            

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.